Book Review #11: I Am Princess X

17408897

The presentation for this book is wonderful. The book cover, chapter design, and illustrations are what drew me in. The purple theme is fitting because y’know royalty=princess.

STORY:

“The princess became their alter ego, their avatar, their third best friend” (pg 8).

In I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest (256 pages), May and Libby bond over Princess X a character they mutually created in fifth grade, May wrote and Libby drew. Their friendship comes to a drastic halt when Libby passes away in a car crash. May thought Princess X died with her best friend, but apparently, Princess X is very much alive.

“Nobody ever… (pg 172)” [I forgot to write down my favorite quote from the book in its entirety, and I’ve already given the book back to the library. ᕙ(⇀‸↼‶)ᕗ ]

Here’s a quote I like from the book, that I actually wrote down:

“The cement turned a satisfying cherry red, like the pavement was bleeding” (pg 1).

I really liked that detail.

So, concerning the story, junk got real very fast. No lie, page nine hits the reader clean in the face. Pfft, it probably rearranged your nose.

I thought  I knew who the great antagonist, Mr. Needleman, was but I was wrong!

CHARACTERS:

I liked reading about these characters a lot.

May was likable but a bit bland. Of course, she knew that as well because Libby’s the one who brought liveliness to their lives.

Libby’s half-Asian (half-Japanese to be exact) so there’s 50¢ of diversity. But, she dies in the first ten pages so…giphy

Anyway, I liked Libby a lot, to the point, I wished she would have narrated the story. For me, May could’ve been Princess X and let Libby shine by herself. Also, there was so little reaction for Libby’s dad.

Patrick was a lot of fun!

My favorite would have to have been Jackdaw! He seemed a bit like an anti-hero. I don’t know many people who would have done as much as he did.

OVERALL:

A pretty good thriller with a few surprises, 4 out of 5 stars! I wanted a cupcake more of suspense, but I acknowledge I had to read this book quickly (before its due date). Maybe I needed more time to ruminate on the ending. And for those who don’t enjoy it, there was NO ROMANCE.

I recommend this book for any teen, though some of the hacking/computer stuff could possibly make someone paranoid.

 

 

Author: wordswithdestiny

My name is Destiny, and this blog was created for a college English course. I honestly like to ramble on about things, and this is the medium to do it. I adore reading books, drawing pictures, searching the internet, and saying the word "adore."

3 thoughts on “Book Review #11: I Am Princess X”

  1. This type of book is not one I would normally pick up and read. Good job on describing the characters and theme. If I come across it I will have to read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

