Monday: What I’m Reading Now 4/10/17

Monday’s almost over but whatever.

Well, finals are coming up, so I have at least 1-2 weeks left of school. I am so relieved because this felt like the longest semester ever. To be honest, I hadn’t planned on doing an IMWAYR post, but it gives me an excuse to put off some homework ( I know procrastination is bad).

What I’m Reading Now:

32145067Wide as the Wind by Edward Stanton

I have entered what feels like a million Goodreads contest, but this is the first (and currently the only one) that I have won! Concerning the presentation, it looks pretty nice, sleek cover and I like the small font. I have read 0 pages so far.

 

22292486 X by Ilyash Shabazz (and Kekla Magoon)

I have read 0 pages so far because I have been so busy! Mind you, I have been writing papers all week.

 

 

22238420Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era edited by Lean’Tin Bracks and Jessie Carney Smith

Super long title! I am writing a paper on black women’s contributions to the Harlem Renaissance, and this was my absolute favorite source.

 

10337115Defining Moments: The Harlem Renaissance by Kevin Hillstrom

Another one of my sources. I have read 35 pages of it so far. This book gives a great chronological overview of the Harlem Renaissance.

On the Shoulders of Giants: My Journey Through the Harlem Renaissance by Kareem Abdul-Jabar (and Raymond Obstfield)

83755I have read 0 pages so far, but I think the presentation is nice! And yes, this is another one of my sources.

 

 

What I Read Last Week:

12558285 Splintered by A.G Howard

I was so done with this book. Everyone’s like ohmygawd Morpheus! Nah, Morpheus can go sit in the corner with Jeb too. Something that annoyed me with this book is why could Jeb never be wrong (Alyssa always reasoned herself to be at fault), and why all the white girls had fake dreadlocks. Not to mention mental issues and medical procedures in this book were not handled very well. Overall, I am not interested in any of the sequels.

I will say the best scene was when the mad tea party goers chased that poor duck and ripped it to shreds. I don’t know why I found that scene funny because it was supposed to be brutal.

 reaction cartoon idk shrug llama GIF

Anyway, if finals don’t take all my time, I will try to do some reading outside of my sources.

imwayr-2015-logo
Kidlit version hosted by Kellee Moye of Unleashing Readers and Jen of Teach Mentor Texts; original version hosted by Kathryn at Book Date.

 

Author: wordswithdestiny

My name is Destiny, and this blog was created for a college English course. I honestly like to ramble on about things, and this is the medium to do it. I adore reading books, drawing pictures, searching the internet, and saying the word "adore."

Leave a Reply

