Mini Review #2: X

22292486Awesome book cover!

STORY:

‘Maybe,’ he says. ‘If the world was fair. As it is, we got to look out for each other.’ He looks at me slant, not smiling, but clearly tempted to. ‘If you came from somewhere, you might know that'(pg 48).

In X by Ilyash Shabazz (and Kekla Magoon) (348 pages), There’s not much I can say about this book without rambling, but I absolutely adored Malcolm’s narrative. I just loved it. I could spread it on thick on whole-grain bread and have a sandwich it’s that good. I hadn’t expected Malcolm’s previous girlfriends to have such a large focus, and I was mad disappointed to not read anything about Betty but I somewhat understand why.

Now, I knew about Malcolm X’s adult life, but nothing about his younger years. This was also a fictional retelling of his story, so I’m not sure what parts are fictional or not.

OVERALL:
I adored the first half of the book, though I liked the last half a lot less (I just did not care about Sophia, Sammy, and West Indian Archie). X is definitely worth reading!

Author: wordswithdestiny

My name is Destiny, and this blog was created for a college English course. I honestly like to ramble on about things, and this is the medium to do it. I adore reading books, drawing pictures, searching the internet, and saying the word "adore."

Leave a Reply

