Everything, Everything was okay. (Movie thoughts)

This is somewhat a movie review! I don’t plan on doing more movie reviews in the future, but I did see Everything, Everything and wanted to say my thoughts.

Everything, Everything was okay.

So, I saw the movie yesterday with a theater full of teenage girls, parents, and grandparents.

The movie didn’t have nearly as much detail as the books, but the visuals were beautiful. The location and room-building were excellent. I wanted Maddy’s room (or better yet her house). And if it was the movie’s purpose to make Hawaii seem like the best tourist attraction ever, it succeeded.

Consumerism was very low. But I wished it had been higher. All of Maddy’s outfits were so cute!  Where are they from? Forever 21? I would love to buy some of the dresses she had especially the yellow one with the zipper.

It had a nice soundtrack too. I definitely perked up at hearing Ari Lennox’s distinct voice in the movie.

There were some major pacing issues. Introducing Rose (who is only mentioned in the book) was cool, but not at the expense of cutting out major moments, which are in the spoiler section.

The kisses were good. The love scene was tasteful.

I loved the inner-thought bubbles when Olly and Maddy had like their third meeting. The direction the director took to show their text messages was creative too.

I liked the ending a lot more here! The book’s ending felt too open-ended.

Overall: Not totally exciting unless you have read the book, and then you might feel disappointed because some of the best parts were condensed or passed over. Still, I am glad I got to see it. I haven’t been to the movies in a while.

[SPOILERS INSIDE]

Like, the domestic abuse Olly’s family faced was a major point of the book, and it got glossed over. I wanted to see the scene where Olly cries on the porch, feeling hopeless. Olly doesn’t even fully explain to Maddy why his Dad got to be the way he was. Maybe the movie just wanted to be a rom-com. Oh yeah, no parkour stuff either!

Also, I wanted more of the Hawaii trip! I thought surely all the erratic pacing was so that there was more focus on the trip. Where was Olly’s New York friend (whose name I have forgotten)? Why didn’t they show Olly and Maddy feasting on the food? It was just “make love” then “rushed to the hospital”; Way too quick for me.

Some of their banter was cut! I wanted to hear “75% cacao butter brown eyes” not a “you’re beautiful.” D:

How the heck did Olly post 100 pictures of the ocean in Maddy’s house? Like it was never explained D:

Author: wordswithdestiny

My name is Destiny, and this blog was created for a college English course. I honestly like to ramble on about things, and this is the medium to do it. I adore reading books, drawing pictures, searching the internet, and saying the word "adore."

Leave a Reply

