Book Review #90: Two Graves Volume 1

“To drive a helpless person mad, give them knowledge. Then, to make a monster: Give them power. To make a monster yours: …”

Two Graves: Wish You Were Here Vol 1 by Genevieve Valentine, Ming Doyle, and Annie Wu (208 pages)

I was intrigued from page one. Playing with Persephone and Hades in a fun way where Death is unable to let go of one terse, cranky woman, so he keeps her around as a helper.

I still don’t understand all the worldbuilding and the character motivations. Death didn’t finish the job and inadvertently let Emilia alter him. Emilia’s got some type of power when she touches someone. There’s a mentorship when you become Death apparently.

You can tell two different artists are working on this book at the same time and not in a way I particularly liked. The art style isn’t cohesive.

I didn’t like the article excerpts at all (not that they weren’t interesting). But it took me out of the flow of the story.

But I enjoyed the narrative voices for Emilia and Death. I’d read volume two for sure.

Author: wordswithdestiny

My name is Destiny, and this blog was created for a college English course. I honestly like to ramble on about things, and this is the medium to do it. I adore reading books, drawing pictures, searching the internet, and saying the word "adore."

Leave a comment