Book Review #26: Posted

31371228STORY:

“Words are ghosts.”

Posted by John David Anderson (384 pages) is about how the removal of cell phones inadvertently causes the rise of sticky notes everywhere. The only thing is everything on the sticky notes aren’t always nice.

This book seemed to be a run-of-mill middle school cliche hierarchy story (much like those overdone high school stories), but it turned out to be a lot more clever. It covered how divorces affect kids differently, being an outcast, bullies, and popularity too. I was expecting cookies but got a cookie pizza instead. You know what I’m saying? Posted is a pleasant surprise.

CHARACTERS:

A great cast of characters. I thoroughly enjoyed Frost’s narrative though he wasn’t my favorite character. This book captures teenage-boy-awkwardness well. I actually liked Bench or Wolf the most.

I found Rose to be a little too good to be true, but not to a point it was grating. Sometimes, she just had a flutter of mary-sue-ness, but she managed to also have kid relatability. Honestly, she reminded me of a girl I knew once.

Wolf was very cool! I loved his entire arc (if you can call it that). At first glance, he seems so quiet and sure of himself like nothing gets to him.

I love how realistic Bench was he just seemed like a real person from his character and the way he acted.

Deedee was such a sweet, gross, and nerdy character. Adorkable.

OVERALL:

I give it about 3 stars! This will definitely remind you of your school days, or anytime you felt pressure to fit or outcast someone.

Author: wordswithdestiny

My name is Destiny, and this blog was created for a college English course. I honestly like to ramble on about things, and this is the medium to do it. I adore reading books, drawing pictures, searching the internet, and saying the word "adore."

Leave a comment